Saturday, June 15, 2024

CWU athletes set PRs at Wildcat Open

Herald Sports Staff | April 27, 2023 3:19 PM

ELLENSBURG – Along with honoring seniors, Central Washington track and field had 30 athletes set personal records and 11 titles were won at last weekend’s Wildcat Open, the lone home meet of the 2023 season.

"We like to say that every day is a great day for track and field, but today turned out to be just about perfect,” CWU Head Coach Kevin Adkisson said in a release. “The weather was awesome, and we saw great efforts that included some big PRs for people in addition to the event victories. It was great to see all the support and teamwork that went on as well to pull the meet off. It was a big team effort."

Event wins included; 100-meter hurdles (Lauryn Chandler, 14.24 seconds); 100-meter dash (E’lexis Hollis, 12.04 seconds); 200-meter dash (Juliette Williams, 24.72 seconds); women’s and men’s 400-meter hurdles (McCall DeChenne, 1:02.85 minutes; Austin Albertin, 53.54 seconds); men’s and women’s 4x100 (Aiden Wise, Albertin, Cantrell Thomas and Isaiah Webster, 42.54 seconds; DeChenne, Williams, Chandler and Hollis, 47.31 seconds); men’s and women’s 4x400 (Albertin, Thomas, Webster and Johan Correa, 3:18.19 minutes; DeChenne, Williams, Elise Hopper and Donna Marie Harris, 3:54.55 minutes); and 3000-meter (Steiner Christensen, 8:55.47 minutes)

PRs from the Wildcat Open include; Erica Cabanos (triple jump), Branden Wise (javelin), Chris Hines (long jump), Ellie DeGroot (javelin, long jump, 200-meter), Carley Huber (100-meter hurdles, 400-meter hurdles, long jump), Wyatt Franklin (shot put, discus throw), Zoe McDevitt (100-meter hurdles, 400-meter hurdles), Tehya Moore (long jump, triple jump), Madison Thompson (400-meter, 1500-meter), Hudson Moore (100-meter, 200-meter), Shawn Clough (1500-meter), Grace Twiss (100-meter hurdles), Garrett Hough (1500-meter), Aiden Wise (110-meter hurdles), Sam Katsuda (pole vault), Reilly Williams (400-meter hurdles), Brenna Board (hammer throw), Jazmin Mendoza (hammer throw), Deylan Okinaka (400-meter hurdles), Sarah Sewell (200-meter), Logan Martin (hammer throw), Beatrice Le Gore (3000-meter), and Grace Howard (3000-meter), Chandler (long jump), Hollis (200-meter), Williams (200-meter), Harris (200-meter).